NASCAR Hall of Fame

NASCAR Hall of Fame
The NASCAR Hall of Fame is located in the heart of stock car racing country in Charlotte, North Carolina.
The first Hall of Fame class was inducted in 2010 and consisted of five inductees.
The NASCAR Hall currently has 58 inductees including 41 drivers, 8 owners, 5 crew chiefs/engine builders, 3 executives, and 1 broadcaster.
Several luminaries are enshrined in the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Search the table below by Name, Induction Year, and other criteria, then click on the Name and visit the detail page for that Hall of Famer.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame is located at 400 East Martin Luther King Jr Boulevard, in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Charlotte is the largest city in North Carolina by population as it is the home of 2.6 million people. As of the last U.S. census it ranked as the 23rd largest city in the country. Besides the NASCAR Hall and races Charlotte boasts several large financial institutions and hosts two major sports teams..


Location - 400 East Martin Luther King Jr Boulevard, in Charlotte, North Carolina

Year Event
2006 NASCAR committed to building a Hall of Fame.
2007 Ground-breaking for the building of the Hall and accompanying 19 story tower costing $160 million.
2010 The NASCAR Hall of Fame officially opened on May 11.
2010 The first inductees were Bill France Sr, Bill France Jr., Dale Earnhardt, Junior Johnson, and Richard Petty.

Both drivers and non-drivers are eligible for induction:

  • Drivers must have been active in NASCAR for at least 10 years and retired for at least three years or have competed for at least 30 years in NASCAR-sanctioned events or turned 55 years of age.
  • Non-drivers must have been involved in the industry at least 10 years.A Nomination Committee consisting of 22 members chooses ten nominees based on their eligibility for the Modern Era Ballot and an Honors Committee (43 members) nominates five on the Pioneer Ballot.

A Voting Panel comprised of members of the Nomination and Honors Committees then vote for the inductees. It is interesting that one vote is reserved for NASCAR fans.

In the past, five inductees were selected each year, but that is now down to three (2 from the Modern Era Ballot and 1 from the Pioneer Ballot).

If you’ve been fortunate enough to visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, would you please share your thoughts so others can enjoy your visit. Thanks.

Add Your Thoughts and Experiences

* Required information
Drag & drop images (max 3)


No thoughts yet. Be the first to share!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
View nascar-hall-of-fame---sportshallz