Hockey Hall of Fame

The Hockey Hall of Fame is located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and houses the history of hockey and the famed Stanley Cup.

The Hall moved to Toronto in 1958 and moved into its first permanent building in 1961.
The Hockey Hall currently has 417 members including 112 builders, 289 players, and 16 referees.
Hockey Hall of Fame
Many luminaries are enshrined in the Hockey Hall of Fame. Search the table below by Name, Induction Year, and other criteria, then click on the Name and visit the detail page for that Hall of Famer.

The Hockey Hall of Fame is located at Brookfield Place, 30 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Toronto is the capital city of the Canadian province of Ontario and has a population of 2.7 million people. It is the fourth largest city in North America and the largest city in Canada. Toronto is a breath-taking city know as its business, finance, technology, entertainment and culture.


Location - 30 Yonge St, Toronto, ON M5E 1X8, Canada

Year Event
1943 The Hockey Hall of Fame was established and they elected Stuart Crawford, the mayor of Kingston their first president.
1961 The first building for the Hall was completed in Toronto, Canada.
1993 On June 18, 1993, the Hockey Hall of Fame moved to its current home at BCE Place now Brookfield Place.
1998 The Hall opened the Tissot World of Hockey Zone which brought world and Olympic hockey exhibits into the building.
2006 The Hall spent $12 million on Millennium Revitalization Plan to enhance exhibits.
2009 The D.K. (Doc) Seaman Hockey Resource Centre was opened housing 18,000 square feet of hockey artifacts and archival collections.
2010 The Spirit of Hockey store opened and the Tissot World of Hockey Zone was expanded.
2012 The Esso Great Hall Revitalization Project was completed at a cost of $1.7 million to house the Stanley Cup, all the major NHL trophies, and tribute to Hall Members.

Members are selected for inclusion in one of three categories: Player, Builder, and Referee/Linesman. Players and Referees/Linesman must be retired 3 years before they are eligible for selection. On the other hand, Builders can be active in the national Hockey League. Builders include positions like coaching, management, and executives.

Unlike most other halls there are maximum numbers of inductees each year by category. Players are limited to 6 (four male and two female). Builders are limited to 2 provided no Referee/Linesman is selected. If the Referee/Linesman limit of 1 per year is achieved, Builders are limited to one that year.

Inductees can only be nominated by members of the Selection Committee with each member only being able to nominate one potential inductee per category. The Selection Committee is comprised of 18 members appointed by the Board of Directors. To gain entry as a member to the Hall, a nominee must receive at least 75% of the Selection Committee votes. Voting is conducted by category in this order – Player, Builder, Referee/Linesman.

Elections are held in June each year with induction occurring in November.

If you’ve been fortunate enough to visit the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, would you please share your thoughts so others can enjoy your visit. Thanks.

Add Your Thoughts and Experiences

* Required information
Drag & drop images (max 3)


No thoughts yet. Be the first to share!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
View hockey-hall-of-fame---sportshallz